Maine. It is against the law to tattoo a minor. To receive a piercing, minors must have the written approval of a parent or legal guardian. Tattoos and piercings are considered body modifications and as such require that you wear some form of identification if you want to be able to enter certain establishments (such as nightclubs) where they are not permitted.
The only exception is if the minor is a Native American who has been given permission by their tribal authority to have a tattoo or piercing.
In addition to being under age, getting a tattoo or piercing without the consent of your parents or guardians may cause them to lose their license to drive, work, or serve as an attendant in a place of public accommodation.
Getting a tattoo or piercing after you turn 16 will not make you liable for any violations under the minor statute, but it does mean that you can no longer be denied entrance to places that regulate such activities through community standards. For example, if you were found to be in violation of this law when you went to get your first tattoo session, then your parents or guardians would have the right to deny future requests for tattoos/piercings until you reached the age of 18.
Tattooing and piercing are highly personal decisions.
Oklahoma It is against the law to tattoo a minor. To have a body piercing, a juvenile must have the presence and written approval of a parent or legal guardian. If you are not old enough to vote, try calling around to other tattoo shops in your area to see who will let you work for free or cheap. Sometimes artists will allow minors to tag along with an adult member of the family as long as that person is there for moral support only.
The best way to find out if you can go ahead with your plan is to ask someone who knows about these things. Maybe call some friends who have tattoos to find out what kind of rules there are where you live so you know what to expect. Then once you find a place that lets you do it, tell your parents what you want and show them the website of the shop you've chosen. If they agree, you can then take them with you when you go visit the artist.
In most cases, the closer you are to 18 years old, the better. But if you are under 18, the parent or guardian must sign a permission slip, which is like a release form. The shop owner or supervisor will give you these slips to fill out and bring back with you before starting work. They need to be signed by both you and your parent or guardian.
California It is against the law to tattoo a minor. To receive a piercing other than an ear piercing, the presence or documented approval of a parent or legal guardian is necessary.
16: Tattooing's legal position in the United States
|State||Minimum Age (with parent/guardian consent)||Intoxicated/Impaired Individuals|
|Maine||18 (piercings excepted)||no restrictions|
|Maryland||none specified||no restriction|
|Massachusetts||18 (except body piercing other than genitalia)||no restriction|
Minor Tattooing and Body Piercing: It is illegal for anybody to tattoo or pierce a minor under the age of 18 without the approval of the child's parent or legal caretaker, who must accompany the minor to the treatment. The parent or legal caretaker can refuse to give his or her permission, but this refusal cannot be used as a reason for denying medical care to the minor.
In Wisconsin, if a person is between 14 and 17 years old, they can get a tattoo with parental consent. The parent can give their consent by signing a form provided by the tattoo artist. If the parent does not sign the form, then the person cannot receive a tattoo until they are 18 years old. In addition, minors cannot have any type of body piercing done on them without first getting written permission from a parent or guardian. Parents should discuss with their children what types of tattoos and body piercings they want, so that there are no surprises later.
People who are between the ages of 12 and 13 can get a tattoo with only their parent or guardian's permission. They can also get body piercings at this age as long as they have their parent or guardian's consent. Minors between the ages of 8 and 11 can get tattoos and body piercings only with permission from their parents or guardians.